Armenia, 0052, Yerevan, Kanaker, 2nd St., 4 House
(Kanaker-Zeytun adm. district of Yerevan)
+374-10-284686The works of Abovian were of enormous value for the national literature of Armenia. Abovian was the first author to abandon classical Armenian and adopt the modern Armenian language for his works, as a result ensuring their diffusion.
Address: 1/1 Argishti str., Yerevan
Working days: Monday-Friday
Working hours: 10:00-18:00Yerevan History Museum was founded in 1931. Since 2005, Yerevan History Museum has been established to the address 1/1 Argishti street, in the nearby territory of which, many years ago, the well-known fortress of Yerevan was situated. Yerevan History Museum together with Yerevan Municipality forms a sole architectural complex. Yerevan is one of those unique cities in the world where the cultural centre, the museum, in subjection of Municipality is in the same building. Naturally, it has its positive aspects. It opens an interesting perspective for the activities of the museum in political, republican and international spheres. More than 87,000 museum pieces are kept in Yerevan History Museum. They represent the material and spiritual culture from ancient times till our days. Here are exhibited: the Yerevan on maps (in 1655 the French traveler Jean Batiste Tavernier visited Yerevan. In his notebook he painted the plan of Yerevan); the portrait of Alexander Tamanyan, who is the founder of the soviet architecture (He transformed the ancient, small and provincial city to a beautiful and modern Yerevan of present); Model of the first tram of Yerevan (in the beginning of the 20th century the only and the general urban transport was the tram of horses made in 1906); National musical instruments of Stephan Boudaghyan (Stephan Boudaghyan was born in 1890, in Tabriz, Persia, in the family of carpenter-furniture maker. He learned the profession from his father and for a long time he made hand works from wood); Press and publications in Yerevan (the first printing-house of Yerevan was founded in 1874 by Zakaria Gevorgyan. The newspapers and journals were published in Yerevan since the 19th century). Here are also exhibited the paintings of famous Armenian artists as M. Saryan G.Bashinjaxyan, P.Terlemezyan, G. Gyurjyan e.t.c. How we see the main subject of all these pictures is Yerevan. Here is also shown the camera with the help of which was shot the first sound (synchronic) film “Pepo” in 1935. The director of this film was Hamo Beknazaryan. Here are exhibited the achievements in the field of sport, Armenian Cognac, and more others exponats. The Museum invites all interested persons on interesting excursions, during which professional guides will tell the visitor much interesting and new about city - as from the first settlings and finishing present-day life of Yerevan. Collection of archaeology, ethnography, numismatics, fine arts, written records, photographs, etc. kept in the storage of the museum tell about the capital, the past and present of its people. Yerevan History Museum holds and conducts excursions, game excursions, lesson excursions. Play excursions and lesson excursions differ from classical excursions by the facilitated methods of introducing the material for the preschool and schoolchildren. Facilities for disabled people include sloping floors, an elevator. Apart from the main exposition of the museum, there is a hall of temporary exhibitions where thematic exhibitions are regularly held. Museum pieces kept in the storage of the museum as well as works of modern artists are displayed here.
Address: 1 Sasuntsi David, Stepanakert
Working days: Monday-Saturday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00The Archaeological museum of Tigranakert is founded in the medieval fortress, situated on the territory of archaeological park in the outskirts of Tigranakert city, founded by the king Tigran the Great /95-55 cc BC/. Various artifacts discovered during excavations by the archaeological expedition of the Academy of Sciences of Armenia under the leadership of Hamlet Petrosyan, perfectly illustrate the ancient history and the rich cultural life of this extremely interesting corner of Artsakh. At the museum’s opening ceremony, Karabakh’s head of tourism, Sergey Shahverdyan, hailed the event as renewed confirmation of the “historical truth.” “Tigranakert is our homeland, like Van, Mush, Kars and Ardahan,” he exclaimed, adding that he was confident the excavated city would “become one of the largest tourism centers of the country.” Tigranakert was among four cities founded by Armenian King Tigranes the Great, who expanded the Armenian Kingdom beyond its traditional boundaries, transforming it into an empire and the strongest state east of Rome. According to Armenian archaeologists, the city was founded sometime in the 80s B.C. and survived through the 15th century. The excavated area around Tigranakert features artifacts and ruins from both Armenia’s Hellenic and Christian eras. Among the findings are two main walls and the towers of the Hellenic styled city and an Armenian church built sometime between the 5th and 7th centuries, in which was found a clay, dish-like item with an engraving that reads “My, Vache, the slave of God.” In three halls of the museum the unique items of material culture belonging to the historical period of 5 c BC-17 c are presented. These are mainly fine ceramic vessels, stone and glass goods. Especially interesting is the disc of gift of the burned clay with the inscriptions in Armenian that dates back to the 5-6th cc. The course of archaeological excavations that have been conducted here from 2006 are widely illustrated, too. The detailed information about the location, the data of the excavations and findings in Armenian, English and Russian are presented on numerous stands. The visitors of the museum can gain here traditional souvenirs and various printed production. There is a small café on the territory of the medieval fortress.
Address: Echmiadzin, Holy See, Vagharshapat
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:30am - 7:30pm, Sunday - 2:00pm - 4:30pmThe Alex and Marie Manoogian Treasury House Museum opened on 11 October 1982. The TreasuryHouseMuseum is a fine example of modern Armenian Architecture which encompasses the original and distinctive features of classical Armenian architecture. The architect is Mr. Baghdasar Arzoumanian. The Treasury House was named after the great American/Armenian benefactors Mr. and Mrs. Alex and Marie Manougian. This beautiful and valuable building was erected due to their donations. The two story structure houses not only the museum pieces of the Armenian Church, but also serves as the temporary building for the Karekin I Library. The exhibits of the Treasury House have been brought to the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin from different Armenian communities throughout time, comprising a vast geographical area. These exhibits come to testify about the skill and high artistic taste of the Armenian craftsmen of different centuries, their unique perception of beauty. Numerous valuable artistic items are exhibited in the halls of the Treasury House, including samples of church art as well as applied art, cross banners, Altar curtains, Right Hands, pyxes, vestments, lanterns, different crosses, staffs, ancient Armenian carpets, pottery and wood-engravings. Among the precious exhibits of the Treasury House of great value are the handwritten records, the manuscripts with unique miniature illustrations and silver, delicately ornamented covers. The collection of pictures depicting the Holy Mother of God created in different regions of historic Armenia at different time periods is also kept here. Lastly a room has been dedicated to gifts given to the Armenian Church from guests, visitors and Armenian faithful from around the world.
Address: Ghazanchetsots str., Shushi
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00The Museum of Fine Arts of the Republic of Artsakh was founded in 2010-2013 on the initiative and substantial logistical support of Professor Grigory Gabrielyants and consists only of donations. The building of museum was based on financial support of the government at the place of the old coaching inn of Shoushi, yet the original architectural appearance was kept. In the museum of Shoushi that is located on a rock there are works by Martiros Saryan, Pavel Kuznetsov, Minas, N. Nikoghosyan, Zhilinskiy, Safohin, Gayane Tiflisetsi, Yuri Grigoryan, Hakob Hakobyan, Galents and other prominent artists. The distinctive feature of the Shoushi museum is the wide geography of painters from Armenia, Georgia, Russia, Lithuania, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Poland, France, the USA, Ethiopia, Mongolia, Egypt, Indonesia, Haiti, Madagaskar, etc. The picturesque canvases of Karabakh artists have a unique place among the exhibited paintings. The opening ceremony of the State Museum of Fine Arts took place on May 9, 2013, on the day of liberation of Shoushi.
Address: Tsitsernakaberd memorial complex, Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 11.00-16.00The Armenian Genocide Museum opened its doors in 1995, concurrently commemorating the eightieth anniversary of the Genocide. The Museum structure, planned by architects S. Kalashian, A. Tarkhanyan and sculptor F. Araqelyan, has a unique design. During the decennial activity the Museum received many visitors including schoolchildren, college students and an unprecedented number of tourists both local and abroad. The museum provides guided tours in Armenian, Russian, English, French and German. The Republic of Armenia has made visiting the Armenian Genocide Museum part of the official State protocol and many foreign official delegations have already visited the Museum. These delegations have included, Pope John Paul II, President of the Russian Federation V. Putin, President of the Republic of France J. Shirak, and other well-known social and political figures. The impressive two-story building is built directly into the side of a hill so as not to detract from the imposing presence of the Genocide Monument nearby. The roof of the Museum is flat and covered with concrete tiles. It overlooks the scenic Ararat Valley and majestic Mount Ararat. The first floor of the Museum is subterranean and houses the administrative, engineering and technical maintenance offices as well as Komitas Hall, which seats 170 people. Here also are situated the storage rooms for museum artifacts and scientific objects, as well as a library and a reading hall. The Museum exhibit is located on the second floor in a space just over 1000 square meters. There are three main indoor exhibit halls and an outer gallery with its own hall. The Genocide Monument is designed to memorialize the innocent victims of the first Genocide of the 20th century. The Genocide Museum’s mission statement is rooted in the fact that understanding the Armenian Genocide is an important step in preventing similar future tragedies, in keeping with the notion that those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it. You can learn about Armenian Genocide also visiting History Museum of Armenia.
Address: 15,16 Dzoragiugh Ethnographic Center, Yerevan
Working days: every day
Working hours: 10:30-17:00Sergey Parajanov (Sarkis Parajanyants) was born on January 9, 1924 in Tbilisi where he finished secondary school. In 1945 he entered the directing program at the VGIK (State Institute of Cinematography) under Igor Savchenko. In 1952 he started to work at the Alexander Dovzhenko Film Studio in Kiev as a film-director. Before 1963 he directed four non-remarkable full-length feature and three short documentary films. In 1964 his «Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors» («Wild Horses of Fire»), brought him world fame. Paradoxically, his problems started just from this movie. In 1965 he began his work over an anti-war film “Kiev Frescos», which was soon banned. In 1966 Parajanov was invited to Armenia where he started his work on «Sayat-Nova». With great difficulties this film was released on a screen in 1969 under the title «The Colour of Pomegranates». It is considered to be his best work after which he was deprived of possibility of making movies for 15 long years. There was a huge gap between a poetic cinema, a brilliant representative of which Parajanov was, and especially Parajanov’s cinema-language and the official Soviet Art. Parajanov was arrested twice because of false accusation in Ukraine (1974-1978) and Tbilisi (1982). These years his talent of brilliant Artist became apparent. He whould say : «I was not allowed to make movies and I started to make collages. Collage is a compressed film». Museum of S. Parajanov houses for about thousand works: collages, drawings, assemblages, dolls. By the end of his life he made another two films at the «Georgia-film» studio: «The Legend of Suram Fortress» and «Ashik-Kerib». Sergei Parajanov died in 1990 in Yerevan where his museum was opened in 1991. The Sergej Parajanov Museum is a tribute to one of the greatest figures [or auteurs] of 20th-century world cinema. Comprising some 1,400 exhibits, the museum’s collection includes installations, collages, assemblages, drawings, dolls, and hats. The museum also showcases unpublished screenplays, librettos, and various artworks which Parajanov created while in prison. Parajanov’s visionary films, such as “The Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors,” “Sayat-Nova,” and “The Legend of Suram Fortress,” earned him international acclaim and led to lifelong persecution by the Soviet regime.
Address: Araks village, Armavir Marz
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 11:00 – 18:00Sardarapat National Ethnographic Museum was built in 1978, in the place of heroic battle of Sardarapat in May of 1918; due to Armenian soldiers’ bitter struggle the brilliant victory was won. After October Revolution Turks, taking the advantage Russian Army’s leaving home, broke ceasefire of Yerznka and intended to realize capture program of not only Western, but also Eastern Armenia. But in 22-26th of May Turkish Army surrendered. Everyone took part in the battle: elderlies, women, and even children. According to architect Rafael Israelyan’s plan a tuff made museum was built left to the memorial complex. From outside this two-store building has entrance and two angular windows: first directed to Mount Ararat, the other – to Aragats; no window from facade. At the entrance of the museum there is a vishap – an ancient mythological creature, spirit of water. The consecutive halls are situated along the perimeter of the building. Those big halls of the building are lightened by the windows of the patios. They seem to be merged in a single volume and make a complete uniform composition. The solid-colored marble and high walls attract with their beauty. The central hall ceiling of the building is arched. It was planned according to the form of Armenian traditional domed homes. The main purpose of building of “Sardarapat” National Ethnographic Museum was to preserve all the material, concerning to May battle. The central hall is devoted exactly to those events and to the establishment of the first Republic of Armenia. Items of Armenian material culture are represented at the museum: from tools of bronze century up to Armenian national garments and XX century carpets. All these allow perceiving the development of craft and peculiarities of Armenian lifestyle in different periods. This museum is part of “Sardarapat” Memorial Complex, so nearby you will see a huge territory with bell tower, two winged bulls, standing on left and right sides, eagle alley, leading to the Ethnographic Museum. The complex was built in May of 1978 in honor of breaking Turkish Army in 26th of May in 1918; to 50th anniversary of the battle. This is one the most wonderful modern complexes.
Address: Tsaghkashat, Askeran region
Working days: Monday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00Nikol Duman (Nikoghayos Ter-Hovhannisyan) was born on January 12, 1867 in the village of Tsaghkashat. He was an agent of the Armenian national liberation movement and a member of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation. He graduated from the Regional School of Shushi in 1887 and went on to become a teacher at several Armenian schools in the Southern Caucasus. A great many of books and articles, songs and poems have been written about him. Most of us would like to see his birthplace, the atmosphere that surrounded Nikol Duman, and the nature that gave him strength to fight against the enemy, to hold the fidais' weapon. Today all these have become reality due to Nikol Duman memorial home-museum, opened for the public in 2004. The Nikol Duman House Museum and Ethnographic District are located in the picturesque village of Tsaghkashat (Ghshlagh) ) along the along the located in the picturesque village of Tsaghkashat (Ghshlagh) along the main road between Stepanakert and Gandzasar, roughly 22 kilometers past Stepanakert, which has been largely restored to recreate 19th century village life in the Askeran Region. Tsaghkashat is a quaint village of roughly 200 indigenous inhabitants who are mainly occupied with cattle breeding and wheat farming. The age-old tradition of winemaking is also being revived in the village. The home-museum is also remarkable for being a single one in Karabakh; maybe even a single one in all Armenia, built on social means and opened for public. This home-museum is yet the only realization (accomplishment) of пїЅNational HeritageпїЅ public foundation's bents, the basic purpose of which is to immortalize the memory of national-liberation movement heroes by creating memorial museums. The home-museum is situated on Stepanakert-Gandzasar highway and from the very days of its existence it has become the pilgrimage place of (for) tourists, visiting Karabakh. And not only for the reason one can see the original atmosphere of life of a Karabakh village of the late 19th, get acquainted with the basic phases of Duman' s activity, arrange a nice traditional Karabakh picnic, taste famous localпїЅmade beverages. The important is the feeling that one has after visiting Nikol Duman's house-you begin to re-estimate the transient values of modern life.
Address: 1 Aram str., Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 11:00-17:30The National Gallery of Armenia was founded in 1921 by the decision of the Soviet Armenian Government, as the Art Department, one of the five departments of the State Museum. Martiros Sarian was appointed the Director of the museum, while Vrtanes Akhikian was named head of the Department of Arts. The State Museum was then located on Astafian (Abovyan) street, in the two-storey tufa building of boys’ gymnasium (architect V. Simonson).The museum building also housed the public library and concert hall. The building also served as a shelter for the orphans who emigrated from Western Armenia. For this reason, the museum did not hold exhibitions for the first four years after it was opened. Due to the lack of exhibitions, upon his visit to Armenia in 1924 A. Lunacharsky voiced his displeasure with the museum, comparing it with a big motley storeroom. As evidenced by a list of invitees to the opening ceremony of the “Museum of Art” on August 14, 1921, the range of participants at this event was diverse. Among the attendees were painters, actors, musicians, officials, workers, soldiers, pupils, and students. The first visitors included famous artists Karo Halabian, Sargis Khachatrian, Taragros, Romanos Melikian and others. The opening ceremony attracted 130 people. The first group of several dozen works was purchased by the Government for the museum in July of 1921 from the 5th exhibition of the “Union of Armenian Artists”. This exhibition was organized in the Central Club of Workers named after S. Shahumian. The works included those of famous painters Y. Tadevosian, S. Arakelian, H. Hagopian, V. Akhikian, G. Sharbabchian, the graphic artist E. Chahine, and many others. In September of the same year, by the decree of Moscow’s All-Russian Central Executive Committee, the former Lazarev Institute was renamed Culture House of Soviet Armenia. At this moment, its material and cultural values passed into state ownership of Armenia. This decision played a decisive role in the formation of museum’s collection, since all of the Russian and European artworks were acquired by the Armenian Museum. This emphasized the collecting practices of the museum - to accumulate works of international fine arts and decorative applied art. 400 works by Armenian, Russian and European artists were certified in the “Brief list” of the Department of Fine Arts of the State Museum, published in Yerevan in 1925.Those works were exhibited in six halls. This was the first brief reference book of the museum, which in addition to other data, also included names of benefactors such as Moscow-resident, architect and engineer Hakob Ekizler (Ekizian). His donations of the works of Hovh. Aivazovsky, V. Sureniants, S. Shchedrin, I. Shishkin, V. Polenov, V. Makovsky and others are among the masterpieces of the gallery. Generally, every museum has a unique history of its foundation. As for the State Museum, donations have played a significant role in the history of the gallery. Having a narrow escape from the Genocide, Armenian people had to leave the land of their ancestors to find shelter in the Near East, Europe and the USA. They took these countries as their second homeland, formed national communities and got engaged in the political, economic and social life of their new environment. They also got involved in cultural activity that included all the spheres of spiritual life: literature, music, and fine arts. Nevertheless, these people longed for their homeland, and remained connected with its problems and achievements. Therefore, it was quite reasonable that Armenian artists got engaged in the cultural life of reviving Armenia, especially in the foundation of the art museum. In 1923 the People’s Commissar of Education Askanaz Mravian turned to the French-Armenian painters, asking them to help the museum to the best of their ability. His call for help received an enthusiastic response from V. Mahokian, Z. Zardarian, T. Yesayan, S. Khachatrian, R. Chichmanian and others, who by 1935 had donated a total of 40 works to the museum. Among grantor-benefactors of the first decade of the museum’s activity were painters M. Sarian, Y. Tadevosian, P. Terlemezian, V. Gayfejian, collectors V. Vahanian, D. Khan-Kelekian, V. Kananian. Donations also included the works of renowned Russian painters Al. Benois, A. Ostroumova-Lebedeva, Y. Lansere, who granted their own works to the gallery. Later on, thanks to Isaac Brodsky’s donation to the museum, the collection of Russian art was enriched with the works of world-famous 20th century artists K. Juon, B. Grigoriev, B. Anisfeld and F. Malyavin.
Address: Gyumri, Haghtanak 47
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00National Architecture and Urban Life Museum is situated in the center of Gyumri city. This is an interesting place, where you can get information about every day life, culture and history of Gyumri city. The quite large exposition of the National Architecture and Urban Life Museum is in the "Dzitoghtsyans's house", which was built in 1872. That is why the museum is also called Dzitoghtsyan's House-Museum. In the museum you will see the past and the present of the aspiring people of Gyumri. Excursion to the museum will represent you the roots of proud Gyumri people. The nice bakery "Fayton Alek" is on the ground floor (entrance is from Victory Square side). The museum is devided into two salons on the both sides of the garden. In the first salon you will see the profile pictures of well-known people in Gyumri. The furniture hasn't been changed from the days, when Dzitoghtsyans lived there. The piano, brought from Italy, other pieces of furniture, brought from Russia and European coutries and unique Gyumri hand-made carpets are here as well. In the second salon you wil see lots of pictures of old Gyumri, map-layout of old Alexandropol. Visiting this museum you will have an excursion from Armenia in 19th century up to cultural Armenia, existig 150 years ago.
Address: 53 Mashtotsi Ave., Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 09:30-17:00Institute of Ancient Manuscripts after Mesrop Mashtots, commonly referred to as "Matenadaran", is one of the most ancient manuscript repositories in the world. It holds one of the world’s richest depositories of medieval manuscripts and books, which span a broad range of subjects, including history, philosophy, medicine, literature, art history and cosmography in Armenian and many other languages. The "Matenadaran" collection was inscribed on UNESCO’s Memory of the World Register in 1997 in recognition of its world significance. The earliest mention of the Armenian term "Matenadaran", which is translated as "repository of manuscripts" in Armenian, was recorded in the writings of the 5th century Armenian historian Ghazar Parpetsi, who mentioned about the existence of the repository in Ejmiatsin, the Mother See of the Armenian Church, where Greek and Armenian language texts were kept. In the course of the following centuries the dissolution of the Bagratuni Kingdom of Armenia in 1045, thousands of manuscripts were destroyed by the Turkic-Mongol invasions. The Seljuk Turks burned over 10.000 Armenian manuscripts in Baghaberd in 1170. As a result Armenia was a constant battleground between two major powers, "Matenadaran" in Ejmiatsin was damaged several times, the last of which took place in 1804. The inclusion of Eastern Armenia into the Russian Empire in the 19th century provided a more stable atmosphere for the preservation of the remaining manuscripts. In 1828 "Matenadaran" catalogued a collection of only 1.809 manuscripts, while in 1914 the collection increased to 4.660 manuscripts. At the outbreak of World War I all the manuscripts were sent to Moscow for safekeeping and were kept there during the war. They were returned in 1922. A decade later the collection was moved to Yerevan and stored at the State Library after Alexander Myasnikyan. Finally on March 3, 1959, the Council of Ministers of the Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic voted in support of the establishment of "Matenadaran" to preserve and house the manuscripts in a new building and in 1962 it was named after Saint Mesrop Mashtots, the creator of the Armenian alphabet. On May 14, 2009, on the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of "Matenadaran", Armenian state and religious officials conducted the groundbreaking ceremony of the building of a research institute being constructed adjacent to Matenadaran. The opening of the building was held on September 21, 2011. Today there is a collection of almost 17.000 manuscripts and 30.000 other documents in "Matenadaran", referring subjects such as historiography, geography, philosophy, grammar, art history, medicine and science. In the first decades of the Soviet regime its collection was largely drawn from manuscripts stored in ecclesiastical structures, schools, monasteries and churches in Armenia and the rest of the Soviet Union. In addition to the Armenian manuscripts, in "Matenadaran" there is also a vast collection of historical documents, numbering over 2.000 in languages such as Arabic, Persian, Hebrew, Japanese and Russian.
Address: Dsegh vil., Lori region
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-18:00Hovhannes Tumanyan (Armenian: Հովհաննես Թումանյան) (February 19 [O.S. February 7] 1869 – March 23, 1923) was an Armenian writer and public activist. He is considered to be the national poet of Armenia. Tumanyan wrote poems, quatrains, ballads, novels, fables, critical and journalistic articles. His work was mostly written in realistic form, often centering on everyday life of his time. Born in the historical village of Dsegh in the Lori region, at a young age Tumanyan moved to Tiflis, which was the center of Armenian culture under the Russian Empire during the 19th and early 20th centuries. He soon became known to the wide Armenian society for his simple but very poetic works. Many films and animated films have been adapted from Tumanyan's works. Two operas: Anush by Armen Tigranian and Almast by Alexander Spendiaryan, were written based on his works. This museum as well as the other memorial museums have been included as branches in the Museum of Literature and Art in different times. As the Y. Charents Museum has become richer, in accordance with sphere of its activity and influence has been widened. The birthplace of All Armenian poet H. Tumanyan (1869-1923) in Dsegh village of region Lori was turned into House-Museum in 1939. Almost 300 valuable objects representing the activity and life of the great writer are preserved here. The bust of the poet (created by A. Urartu, in 1953) is put in the yard and a chapel, where the heart of of the poet is preserved, has been built in 1994 in the yard of the museum. The building of the House-Museum has been reconstructed by the financial assistance of Mr. Guntakchian and his wife Mrs. Puchikyan from Diaspora. The exposition has also been renovated. Though the House-Museum is situated in a highland village place, the magnetic force of the outstanding poet, prose witer and national figure attracts thousands visitors to be associated with his sacred relics. Memorable anniversaries concering the poet, great celebration and annual Tumanyan days are organized in this museum.
Address: 3 Saryan, Yerevan
Working days: Monday-Wednesday, Friday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00, Wednesday: 10:00-16:00Martiros Saryan (1880 -1972) is one of the greatest painters of the 20th century, an outstanding colorist. 'Color is a genuine miracle', the painter exclaimed. 'In combination with sunlight, it expresses the spirit of object's shape and the essence of universal existence'. Saryan's paintings, created in bright, saturated colors represent a new aesthetic perception enable us to understand that art is not only an imitation of reality but, it is the use of free imagination and abstraction. At the same time, Saryan adheres simple natural shapes in his paintings, always believing nature to be his main mentor. In the beginning of the 1910's, Saryan was a bold innovator, who brilliantly united artistic traditions of the East with the new achievements of the twentieth century European painting. The artist was recognized in Russia, where some of his paintings were bought by the famous Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow, others were exhibited in Europe. In 1921, Saryan settled in Armenia, to participate in its spiritual rebirth. The ideology of the Soviet country in which he resided created certain difficulties for his free creative evolution. But the artist remained loyal to the principles of his own style. The earlier elaborated technical methods and ways of expression were enriched with new content. As a founder of the modern Armenian school of painting, Saryan asserted in his art the timeless and humanistic values of high art. The Saryan Museum is a State museum of one artist. It was founded in 27 November 1967. Today, the Museum's fund has 247 pieces of storage. During 38 years of its existence the Museum's major activities were collecting, exhibiting, and publishing. The Museum organized multiple exhibitions, published various books, albums and catalogues. The Museum is going to expand exhibiting and scientific activities with the aim of establishing a center on the Saryan studies. In this regard, systematization of the artist's archives will be accomplished. His private library will be catalogued and organization of conferences is scheduled. An art studio will be set up at the Museum, lectures and film screening will be organized about modern painting. In 1932, a house with a studio was built for Saryan in Yerevan. In his lifetime, the master received hundreds of visitors from different countries. Admirers of his art used to come here to join the brilliant colorful art, to feel the warmth of the artist's soul, to share his love of life, his admiration for the sun and nature. The first acquaintance with Saryan, as a symbol of national culture, became the brightest impression about Armenia. Saryan's `recognition became the basis of a special decision of the Government of Armenia, according to which in 1967 a museum adjoining the residential part was constructed` in his lifetime. The author of the construction plan is architect Mark Gregorian. The first director who supervised the construction of the museum was the younger son of the artist, composer Lazar Saryan. But since the latter also was the rector of the Yerevan State Conservatory, Sh.G.Khachaturyan headed the Museum three months before its opening. He was the director of the Museum in 38 years. Since 2004 the director of Museum is Rouzan Saryan and the fund curator is Sophie Saryan. The studio where Saryan worked for forty years is the most exciting part of the Museum. Everything here is preserved as it was left by the master. The residential part of the house is not in the tour program of the Museum. All items of value representing an interest for Saryan's art have been passed on to the Museum.
Address: 40 Moskovyan, Yerevan
Working days: Monday-Sunday
Working hours: 11:00-16:00Born in 1869 Tumanyan has written a great number of poems, quatrains, ballads, novels, tales, fables and articles along his creative path. Some of the most popular works by Tumanyan are “The Dog and the Cat,” “Maro,” “Akhtamar,” “Anush,” Nazar the Brave,” “Death of the Mouse,” “A Drop of Honey” and so on. In regard to Tumanyan’s works Russian writer Korney Chukovski said, “The person who wrote “A Drop of Honey,” “The Dog and the Cat” and “The Death of the Mouse” must be classified among the leading masters of world art.” Hovhannes Tumanian Museum functions since 1953. The founder and the first director was the poets daughter. Copies of manuscripts, photo documents and original illustrations of Tumanian writing, works of such artists as G.Yeritsian, A.Grigorian, G.Khanjian are exhibited here. In 1969, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the great writer, a new two-storey building was built to house materials related to Tumanyans life and work including his personal items, documents, manuscripts, sketches, and publications in more than 40 languages. On the first floor of the museum there are various materials regarding the writer’s social life and activity, including photos, letters, documents, manuscripts and so on. The materials are introduced in chronological order so that the visitors can keep up with the life path of this most talented Armenian writer. Also, on the walls of the first floor, there are several lines from Tumanyan’s poems, which if you don’t know Armenian, are worth to be asked to be translated for you to have a broader idea of the writer and to have a broader notion of who Hovhannes Tumanyan was. On the second floor there are six halls, which are the reproduction of Tumanyan’s last apartment in Tbilisi. Tumanyan’s exceptionally rich library can also be found on the same floor. It includes around 8000 books. The second floor replicates in minute detail Tumanians Tiflis (Georgia) apartment where the writer lived the last 14 years of his life. The museum also accommodates his private library of about 8000 volumes dedicated to studies on the Caucasus and Armenia, religion, culture, history and folklore of various nations. The museum is a large research center and organizes literary events and performances dedicated to the brilliant writer Tumanyan. Cultural events and exhibitions are organized as well. The patio has the bust of the poet (sculptor Aytzemnik Urartu) and a small chapel (architect R. Julhakyan) where the heart of the poet is buried.
Address: 4 Republic Square, Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday - Saturday
Working hours: 11:00 - 18:00History Museum of Armenia was founded by the Parliament Law No. 439, September 9, 1919. It was calledEthnographic-Anthropological Museum-Library and had Yervand Lalayan as its first director. It started receiving visitors on August 20, 1921. The museum was renamed State Central Museum of Armenia (1922), Cultural-Historical Museum (1931), Historical Museum (1935), State History Museum of Armenia (1962) and History Museum of Armenia (2003). It was was formed on the basis of the collections of the Armenian Ethnographical Association of the Caucasus, Nor Nakhidjevan Museum of Armenian Antiquities, Museum of Antiquities of Ani, Vagharshapat Repository of Ancient Manuscripts (15,289 objects). In 1935, based on the collections of this Museum, separate museums were established by the order of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Armenia:
Address: 1 Sasuntsi David str., Stepanakert
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00Artsakh State Historical Museum of Local Lore is the only historical-cultural center where the history of Karabakh from the ancient times till our days is demonstrated. From the beginning of its foundation, 1939, in spite of the anti-Armenian policy of Soviet Azerbaijan and the years of war, unleashed by it in Karabakh, the museum has managed to gather and preserve all the spiritual and material values of Karabakh people. The fund of Artsakh State Historical Museum of Local Lore counts more than 50 thousand historical-cultural artifacts, presenting the origins of birth and development of the civilization at the territory of nowadays' Karabakh.Today more than ever the museum has the opportunity to enrich its funds effectively due to the archaeological excavations conducted in Karabakh and archaeological findings. The museum exhibition halls begin with the show-cases demonstrating models of Artsakh natural landscape. Further is the hall of archaeology. Here, particularly, models of petrifications, early items of Stone Age, different bronze subjects (adornments, weapon, utensils), preserved from times of the state of Urartu, gorgeous ornamented ceramic vessels, Armenian, Roman, Persian, Arabian silver and copper coins, and so on. The hall of Middle Ages begins with a photo and a map attached to it of one of the first Artsakh churches (4thc.) – Amaras monastery, founded by Gregory the Illumiator, the first Armenian Christian prophet. Here the documentary evidences of his propagations in South Caucasus are shown. The department of ethnography where the demonstration begins with the show-case of family life of the ancient Artsakhian (grandmother weaves thread with distaff, and grandfather sews trekhs (footwear of leather made by him) is unique. Here are presented also the old carpet weaving loom and the samples of Artsakh weaving art – carpets of 18-20 cc. In 19c. The center of the Armenian national culture was Shoushi city; of it the old gospel, printed books and photos tell. The halls of modern history are rich in documentary artifacts where exhibits about the national liberation fight of Karabakhian Armenians against Azerbaijan in 1918-1921 are shown. Here the map of Armenia of 1926 is presented, done on the basis of the union treaty of the 10th of August, 1920, as well as documents confirming the tragic events in Shoushi on the 23d of March, 1920, and telling about the forced annexation of Mountainous Karabakh to the Soviet Azerbaijan. The last halls of the museum is devoted to the modern movement of Artsakh, national-liberation war, about the solidarity of the whole Armenian nation in post-war period with the aims of consolidation of the republic of Mountainous Karabakh. There is a small second-hand bookshop in the museum, where one can buy booklets, books and photo albums about Karabakh.
Address: 64 Abovyan, Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-17:00, Sunday: 10:00-16:00The Museum of Folk-Art, named after artist Hovhannes Sharambeyan, is a unique cultural center best representing the Armenian folk art. Here there are Armenian decorative-applied and pictorial works. The museum building opens its hospitable doors to everybody and invites to admire the various things which are made by Armenian masters and are considered to be the indivisible part of folk art. The museum collection began to be shaped still from the late 1930s by the efforts of the group led by ethnographer Habetnak Babayan. Painters Martiros Saryan, Hakob Kojoyan and Gabriel Gyurjyan actively participated in its enrichment. On the basis of the collection, the exhibits of which were gradually increasing, the Museum of Folk-Art of Armenia was opened in 1978. Now the collection has about 12000 exhibits. Each of them is of national and cultural value and tells us about the experience of Armenians maintained during the centuries and gives broad imagination about the different phases of the development of Armenian folk art. The exhibition consists of some parts: there are exhibits of wood enslavement, artistic working out of metals, especially unique exhibits of silver-making art, embroidery, stone-art, ceramics, miniature carvings, about 350 carpets, numerous pictorial works which have been exhibited in various museums of the world. Among them with their developed executive art and fine working, figured wooden rolling-pins and stamps for gata, music-paper and book supports, interesting scales made of one piece of wood, delicate silver adornments and belts, tablecloths and embroideries strike visitor’s eye. The Museum of Folk Art has its branch in Dilijan, in Tavush region, opened in 1979. The building of the museum was built in 1896 and belonged to national-social figure, benefactress, princess Mariam Tumanyan. The last inhabitant of that house was Hovhannes Sharambeyan who had been managing the museum works and by whose efforts the branch was opened. The great love and devotion to the folk art gave him the opportunity in a short period of time to make the museum one of the best cultural centers of the Republic, and still today it continues to be so, organizing exhibitions and paying great attention to the development and fame of Armenian traditional arts. Hovhannes Sharambeyan folk art museum is a unique centre of culture where specimens of Armenian decorative and applied art are preserved and displayed. The museum pays great attention to the development and propaganda of traditional crafts. From time to time the exhibitions are hold only in Armenia but in foreign countries as well, including temporary works and samples from the museum’s funds. The exclusive samples have been displayed in many countries - Italy, France, Belgium, Portugal, Greece, Germany, India, Norway, Yemen, Mozambique, Tunicia, Syria.
Address: 1 Getapnya Str., Dilijan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 11:00-18:00, Sunday: 11:00-16:00In 1979 in Dilijan branch of the folk art museum was opened. The house was built in 1896. It belonged to the famous public person, chairity monger princess Mariam Tumanyan. The establishment was opened on initiative of the latter resident of the house Hovhannes Sharambeyan. The collection is constantly being enriched by purchase and donations from armenians living abroad. The museum has great contribution in development and propaganda of traditional crafts in Dilijan. Sometimes the exhibitions are hold only in Armenia but in foreign countries as well. Inthe exhibitions temporary works and samples from the museum’s funds are also represented. The unique samples have been displayed in many countries - Italy, France, Belgium, Portugal, Greece, Germany, India, Norway, Yemen.
Address: 38 Erebuni, Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 10:00-16:00Erebuni settlement is placed on Arin Berd which is situated between Nor-Aresh and Vardashen districts in south-eastern periphery of Yerevan. It was built by one of the greatest kings of Urartian state Argishty the First (786-765/764 BC) in 782 BC, who, according to Khorkhoryan inscription, had resettled here 6600 soldiers from countries Khate and Tsupany situated in western part of Armenian highlands. In the late 19th archeologist A. Ivanovsky took a basalt cuneiform inscription from P. Ter-Avetikyan who lived in Nork. The inscription was interpreted and published by M. Nikolsky.:
Address: "Cascade" Complex, Yerevan
Working days: Tuesday-Sunday
Working hours: 09:00-18:00The building that now houses the Cafesjian Center for the Arts is well known to the Armenian people, especially those living in its capital city of Yerevan. Known as "The Cascade", the complex was originally conceived by the architect Alexander Tamanyan (1878–1936). Tamanyan desired to connect the northern and central parts of the city—the historic residential and cultural centers of the city—with a vast green area of waterfalls and gardens, cascading down one of the city’s highest promontories. Unfortunately, the plan remained largely forgotten until the late 1970s, when it was revived by Yerevan’s Chief Architect, Jim Torosyan. Torosyan’s conception of the Cascade included Tamanyan’s original plan but incorporated new ideas that included a monumental exterior stairway, a long indoor shaft containing a series of escalators, and an intricate network of halls, courtyards, and outdoor gardens embellished with numerous works of sculpture bearing references to Armenia’s rich history and cultural heritage. Construction of Torosyan’s design of the Cascade was launched by the Soviets in the 1980s but abandoned after the Armenian earthquake of 1988 and the break-up of the Soviet Union in 1991. With independent rule and the transition to democracy, Armenia entered a period of severe economic hardship, and the Cascade remained a neglected relic of the Soviet era for more than a decade. Mr. Cafesjian, working with the City of Yerevan and the government of the Republic of Armenia, initiated its recent revitalization in 2002. Over the next seven years, virtually every aspect of the monument was renovated, and much of it completely reconstituted into a Center for the Arts bearing the name of its principal benefactor. The Cafesjian Center for the Arts is dedicated to bringing the best of contemporary art to Armenia and presenting the best of Armenian culture to the world. Inspired by the vision of its founder, Mr. Gerard L. Cafesjian, the Center offers a wide variety of exhibitions, the majority of which are derived from Mr. Cafesjian’s own extensive collection of contemporary art. A diverse program of visiting lecturers, classic films, concerts, and numerous educational programs for adults and children augment the Center’s vigorous exhibition schedule.